Crushing a Songbird but expecting a Melody


by
Tina Blackledge
3-8-2015

Are you happy?
I wonder.
Does it bring you hope
to make me cry?

Are you happy?
I wonder.
When you cause pain,
confusion and fear?

Are you happy,
you who were
beloved?
You, who were
favored by God?

Can you feel…anything?
Do you feel any sense of hope
when you torture the
children of God?

Are you happy?
I wonder.
You, were bathed in
God’s pure love?
Why wasn’t that enough
for you?

You cannot be God.
You are not God.
So you take, meddle,
confuse and
destroy.

Does it make you happy?
I wonder.
Do you find delight
when you play with people’s
lives?

You use the tears and blood
of millions, who call
God, Father, to keep
yourself alive.

Does it make your existence
any less pathetic
any less loathsome
to taint the existence
of mankind?

Thousands of years
have come and gone.
You have created madness,
atrocities, sicknesses and disasters.
You have sent your demons
to lure God’s children away
with your filthy lies.

You have crushed millions
of lives. Worse, you have
crushed souls
twisting them to your
will.

Thousands of years…
We are still here.
We still have hope.
We still have faith.
You have failed.

You, who’s name meant
beautiful, have failed
again.
You may be relentless
but so are we.

Are you really happy?
Enjoy it.
If it makes you smile
to
hurt me by causing
those I love to betray me,
Smile.

Were you happy
when my innocence
was stolen?
Smile.

If it brings you happiness
to destroy my career,
smile.

If it brings you joy
to
keep me in poverty,
Smile.

If you gain delight
in stealing my mobility,
Smile.

If you feel happy
causing my flesh to
decay turning me into
a monster.
Smile.

If you experience happiness
torturing my body
with chronic pain and exhaustion.
Smile.

If you felt happy as
you broke my heart
taking the only man I
ever loved,
Smile.

If you find joy in
taking my
life,
Smile.

I know your game.
I know your tactics.
I know your name.
I know your end.
You lose.
You LOSE.

All of your efforts are
futile.
We are at war and when
you attack me, it
gives me opportunity
to poison your hope
because I refuse to
let go of mine. I
pray it is a bitter taste
upon your palette.

I am happy knowing
that I irritate you. I know
you hate me and I am grateful.

You have been trying to destroy
my body, mind, heart, and faith
since I was a very small child.

I must scare you, my God given
purpose must scare you, because you
have been trying so hard to destroy me.

You are desperate and for you
to pick on a human child of God shows
the depth of that desperation. I may not
always be strong. I may not always
feel hopeful, joyful, or even thankful
to my Father but I will never
give up the fight against you.

I have survived hardship, heartbreak,
suffering, persecution, and I
know the future holds much more
but you are denied victory.

When you finally cause this body
to fail, I will go where you are not
allowed to tread. I will enter the gates of
heaven and you will be one
step closer to your
permanent demise.

I know, according to
society’s measurement, I am nothing.
Yet, I am a child of God, under persecution,
and I hold firm to my hope and faith.

That makes me a warrior against you and
that makes me dangerous to your
evil plots. I will reveal your hand.
I will show those struggling that it is
you and not God that is causing them
pain. I will name you and place
the shame upon your shoulders
where it belongs.

I will help the hopeless
find the light. I will fight to reveal your
evil plan in their lives. I will use my last breath
to expose your charade so all can see
and know their pain is due
to a once beloved angel
who is embittered, jealous, and
vengeful.

You pick on the weak
and helpless, creatures you
consider to be useless. You think
we are beneath you and undeserving
of the Father’s love. We are undeserving
but He chose to love us anyway.

Are you happy?
I wonder.
No matter how hard you have
tried throughout the millennia,
you have not managed to destroy
the hope and faith that we continue
to hold in our hearts.
We continue to teach our children
We continue to die in the name of
our Lord. In the name of our Creator, in
our Loving Father.

Why wasn’t His love
enough?
You had everything and threw it
away.

Now you spend your existence
making yourself happy by
hurting God’s children.
Worse, you do this with the full
knowledge that you will
never win, never, ever.

Go ahead, keep trying
You will not win.
You will not win.

I am weary, I am tired
and it is not my destiny to
destroy you. But, I will
thwart your plans in anyway
I can and I will serve the one
who will bring your eternal
doom.

Go ahead, smile.

4 thoughts on “Crushing a Songbird but expecting a Melody

    • My faith gives me strength and there are more instances than not where faith is all I have to hold onto. I feel the need to share this as I know this world is a cruel place with much suffering so people need hope. I hope my words achieve that end.

      Like

Leave a thought or two and I will surely get back to you!

