Flameless Soul


Pain darkens light.
Hurting another snuffs
a tendril
within.

Being hurt
brings walls up to guard
the remnant of your soul.
This wall begins to suffocate
till only a flicker remains.
Gasping desperately
for fuel to stay alight.

NO! Its owner
is finished. Too much.
Release me, Release me!
I beg thee, I am spent.

Careless words,
misunderstandings,
wounds inflict
the heart and soul.
Damage cannot be
sponged out.

Empty, utterly
void.

Let it die,
let it rest.

Dear God in
heaven above,
hear my prayer
allow not my soul
to tarry here.

3 thoughts on “Flameless Soul

Leave a thought or two and I will surely get back to you!

