Just Me…


Just me…
by
Tina Blackledge
6-9-2010

I am a faithful friend
a loving daughter
taking care of both my
Mother and my Father.

I am a sister too,
making certain they know
my love is true

I am a caretaker
of broken hearts…
but cannot seem to find
the salve to heal
what has torn my own apart.

I trust…and then pay the price
I offer my genuine self
and am told I must
put it back on the shelf.

When I give… everything is fine
but should I reveal a need
it is treated as a crime.

When you are angry or in distress
I will champion you as if it were a quest

I give all…
Why…why is it not enough?
Why can’t I be just me?
Why am I not enough?

Many tell me I am great
but
too many open the gate of hate and ridicule.

I trust…
What a huge mistake!
I take the bait and then they wait…
As jackals in a lurking state.

For when I reveal who I
really am…
It happens again!

How can you be so
stupid?
Why did you dare believe
that you could ever
be…just me.

Replace the mask
play the game
because in the end
you have only yourself
to blame.

Is it a self-fulfilling prophecy…
this line of logic is steadfast
but only in the mind of an ass.

Blame the broken if you must
especially when they dare to trust.
For the prize can be called fate…when
they fail you reaffirm that you are great.

After all, they never really had a chance…
Live comfortably in your delusion, for
the day will come
when you comprehend that
‘just me’ was far more
vast than the sea.

9 thoughts on “Just Me…

  1. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

    Like

  2. I love and know that you surrender fully and give what you have all your heart
    but dear Tina people are not like that they are not meant to be treated like that
    you need not give your heart to unworthy people and in that way you choose the right people who have the courtesy atleast to be thankful

    So try to be a little calculative in selecting people please that is a request
    they will not even utter a word in your bad times be a little selfish dear

    love and hugs to a very very dear friend 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for your kindness Ajay. When I wrote this, I was climbing a particularly steep mountain in my life. I have not had many plateaus throughout my life’s journey; therefore, I am used to always struggling to get to the next “hand hold”. However, my experiences have taught me that there are many wonderful people out there who are willing to extend their hand while expecting nothing in return. I used to see the bad alone but I have come to appreciate the beauty and compassion that is the gentle souls, which hunger for the same things as does my own. I appreciate that you are one who brings both into my existence. Blessings upon you, my friend.

      Like

Leave a thought or two and I will surely get back to you!

